Veterans Service Committee


The Veterans Service Committee meets, in a public forum, twice a year to establish policy and procedures for the administration and operation of the Sarpy County Veterans Service Office.


  • Gregory M. Bendon, Sr.
    Term expires: June 2022
  • James A. Costello
    Term expires: June 2021
  • Thomas G. Kimmet
    Term expires: June 2023
  • James D. Pape
    Term expires: June 2025
  • Russell L. Zeeb
    Term expires: June 2024


The Sarpy County Veterans Service Committee is created in accordance with NE State Statute 80-407. Committee members are veterans, representatives and members of the various veteran service organizations in the County. They are appointed to the committee by the County Commissioners to serve a five year term.

The Veterans Services Committee, in conjunction with the Nebraska Department of Veterans Affairs, is required to establish programs of assistance and approve procedures for carrying out all veteran-related programs. The committee shall appoint, subject to the confirmation by the County Board, a county Veterans Services Officer.

The goal of the committee is to establish policy and procedures for the administration and operations of the Sarpy County Veterans Service Office; in support of this policy, the committee strives to provide professionally accredited veteran advocates to ensure outstanding service to the military retirees, veterans and their dependents and surviving dependents in Sarpy County.